Soul Searching and Decisions

Disclaimer: All pics on this post were found doing basic Google searches for pics. I neither own any of these motorcycles, nor do I know their owners. They were the pics that I liked the best.

So the last two group rides that I have been on have been on two different 250cc class dual sports. A 2016 Honda CRF250L, and a 1991 Honda XR250L. On both group rides, I’ve ridden with 650cc class and larger dual sports. Both times, with my riding buddies just riding normal or a bit playful (nothing excessive by any stretch of the words), I’ve pushed my bike hard enough to put real strain or damage to it to keep up on the paved sections (and lets be realistic here…the paved sections of most rides I will go on group rides on have more pavement than dirt).

While I do truly enjoy riding small bore motorcycles (not that I’ve ever been against larger bore bikes, I’ve owned and enjoyed my share), like anything else man-made, they have their limitations. I’m not going to get into the pros and cons of small vs large bore motorcycles here, that’s a debate that’s older than I am, I would imagine. What I am saying here is that I’ve done lots of sould searching on the subject,lots of evaluating of my wants and needs, and a bit of research on larger bikes that I mayhave interest in. I will go ahead and admit that I have decided to sell Ruby (my beloved 7.5 month old CRF250L) to finance and purchase a larger dual sport bike to use for the same intended purpose (ADV style rides/trips/camping, not trails).

My first thought was “Something like a DRZ400, that size of bike, might fit the bill nicely”, but I quickly dismissed that idea because there are some longer road trips that I would also like to do in the coming years. The DRZ400, for example, is equipped with a 5 speed transmission that is well known by owners on the forums to not be the most highway capable motorcycle. A mid size DS bike like that would most likely still have me pushing on the paved sections on these group rides, as well as limit how far I would want to take one on trips*. No, if I’m going to sell the first brand new motorcycle that I have bought in my adult life to buy bigger, I’m going to buy bigger. “If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em” as the expression goes. I’m looking at buying a 650cc class of DS (Dual Sport) bike.

There are three readily available 650cc machines on the market, both new and used. Obviously, if I can budget a new one (since I’m replacing a new bike with it), that’s the way I want to go. Those three in no particular order are the Suzuki DR650, the Kawasaki KLR650, and the Honday XR650L. I’ve done a it of researching on each, both online and in person (I rode out to a couple dealers to see the bikes in person, as well as talked to Doug to get his imput since he currently owns a DR650 and it’s not his first). I’ll start with the Suzuki DR650 since I have a little experience riding one and a lot of experience riding along with one.

Suzuki DR650: List price per Suzuki’s website (including mandatory “Destination fee”) is $6,864.00. I enjoyed riding Doug’s DR, and being transparent here, the day that I bought Ruby, I very nearly bought a 2015 (used) DR650 instead**. Doug rides a DR650 and has owned at least one before this one. Brian now rides a DR650 and loves it. Keith and Doug both are the shop and mechanics that I have faith and trust in, and they are both very biased towards “The mighty DR” (a phrase coined by a Youtuber who posts videos of rides on his DR650 :p ). All three bikes have loyal followings, and like the other two bikes, the DR650 has been around for a LONG time without a lot of changes over the years.

What it has going for it is a reasonable seat-height, good power (from my own experience riding them), decent off-road performance–even being reasonably trail capable–reasonably light weight (360lbs), and great aftermarket support.

For my wants and needs, as it comes stock, a DR650 will need basically the same upgrades/changes that Ruby did…a larger fuel tank (I think it’s a 3.4 gallon tank stock, I would want a 5-ish gallon unit), racks and hard-sided cases, a way to charge my electronics (phone, gps, Kindle, etc), and it will need a windshield.

Honda XR650L: List price per Honda’s websight is $7,279 (including fees/taxes) out the door. I admit that I have not ridden an XR650L, though I did look at a couple in person. These also have a loyal following of owners, good aftermarket support, and have been around for a lot of years. Owners typically seem to love them (as seen on forums and online).

Aside from aftermarket support and proven track record, what it has going for it is great offroad performance (well know to be the best trail bike of these three), XR’s legendary reliability/longevity, it’s the lightest of the three at 346lbs (per Honda’s website), and it would look really nice sitting beside my XR250L, LOL! I’m sure there are many other things, I’m staying what’s important to me on this though.

For my wants and needs, it definitely needs a bigger fuel tank (stock is only 2.8 gallons), as well as the same things the DR650 would need (racks, boxes, windshield, etc), and it would most definitely have to have lowering links…it has a 37″ seat height (at 5’9″, I have a 32″ inseam 😉 ) as well. It’s also known (forums, online research) as not being nearly as comfortable as the other two on road trips or highways. Makes sense…great off road performance (relatively speaking..it’s a DS bike, not a CRFX) and great on-road performance usually come at one another’s expense. The thought of a reasonably light weight 650cc trail ready dual sport does appeal to me, but that’s really where I enjoy Small Bore Bliss the most (and what I bought the XR250L to do).

Kawasaki KLR650: List price per Kawasaki’s website is $7,059 (including fees) out the door. The KLR is in it’s 2nd Generation (since 2008), but most of the differences (if I understood the research correctly) are cosmetic. These are world reknown for being bulletproof and great platforms for ADV trips, and have been ridden all over the world by more poeple than I could find that have on either of the other two bikes.

The KLR is very well known as a budget friendly ADV-lite motorcycle, and has proven itself all over the world to be a good, solid choice for such. Like the others, changes over the years haven’t been numorous, but a few years back Kawasaki is said to have finally fixed a well known issue that owners typically fixed themselves (lovingly referred to as “the Doohicky repair” in KLR circles), though it’s also well known that it’s the least capable on trails of the three, most likely IMO due to it being by far the heaviest of the three (432lb “curb weight” per Kawasaki’s website).

The KLR comes a bit better equipped for my purposes than either of the other two bikes, it has a better looking engine skid plate, rear rack installed form the factory, and a fairing (love it or hate it–it’s known to aid in rider comfort in wind/cold protection) with windshield, it has a 6.1 gallon fuel tank standard, etc. Like the others, it has a stellar reputation, and a vast aftermarket of support. While it might be well known to be the least capable on trails. It’s known to be much more comfy on roads and long trips than the XRL was designed to be, and arguably more-so than the DR650 is stock for stock as well.

Reviews and “shootouts” between the three of these bikes are pretty consistant over the years. “The XR650L is the best trail bike of the three, the KLR650 is the best ADV-lite and long distance bike of the three, and the DR650 falls somewhere in between the other two”–I’ve read that in more than a couple comparisons from various years (various decades 😮 ). It all comes down to prioreties, but as much as that, it comes down to budget as well.

The guys at my favored shop,FWIW, lean towards the DR650 heavily due to it’s “falls somewhere in between the other two” design. Of the three, they actually favor the KLR the least, but that’s due to the weight penalty it carries–especially off-road–and not because of any flaws in the bike (I asked specifically). As stated, I don’t really need a 650cc woods bike anyways so that really isn’t a factor. I do have aspirations to make some long, or at least longer trips, and there’s that 37″ seat height on the XR650L, so that kind of rules out the XRL for me, leaving me deciding between the DR650 and KLR650.

The KLR is (considerably) heavier than the DR650–which is a demirit off-road, but considered a plus on road for comfort and not being blown around as much on the interstate–but it comes equipped off the showroom floor better fitting my wants/needs, which is less money spent total, which makes it less expensive in the long run and my having what I need now rather than when budget allows, making the KLR seem like a better bargain, and possibly a better fit for my wants/needs. The least expensive brand new DR650 that I could find is over $6,000 (before fees). I have found a dealer within driving distance of a day trip for a KLR650, though, that is selling new non-Camo color KLR’s for $5495 “out the door with no hidden fees”***, and they have between 20-25 untis on the floor. I’m not disclosing where/who this dealer is because…well, read on :p

    IF the budget for a brand new replacement for Ruby is available and I can budget it before that sale/factory rebate special expires , I will confess now that I have pretty much settled on a new KLR650 bought from that dealer. If the budget for a brand new bike isn’t possible (or if that sale ends before), then I will talk to them (again) and see what their used inventory has in it before looking elsewhere, whichever of the three they have in stock at that time. I was that impressed after speaking with them multiple times this week.

Anyways, it’s late, I’m tired. I will speak more on this subject later. Ride safe!

 

 

 

 

*Speaking about me personally…I realise and am well aware that others have taken 400’s and much smaller on longer trips than I most likely ever will and been happy doing so. From Steph Jeavens taking her CRF250L (Rhonda the Honda) all around the world, to a gentleman whose name escapes me that just this year rode his 50cc scooter all around America and setting a new World Record doing so. Those (especially Steph) were great inspirations to downsize and enjoy Small Bore Bliss in the first place over the last couple of years.

**Ultimately, my desire to own a brand new bike fo rthe first time since my Dad was buying bikes for me as a kid, plus that the specific DR that I was looking at was a $400 more (but with no destination fee) than Ruby, and it was showing that it had been ridden hard (15,000 miles on it, several battle scars from trail riding, etc)

***Research has turned up that that specific dealer is a great place to do business, BTW.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in CRF250L, Dual Sport, FOR SALE, General Motorcycle Stuff, Honda, Kawasaki, New Budget Bike Search, XR250L. Bookmark the permalink.