1991 Kawasaki KDX 200 (a few pics)

I did part of the engine break-in on the KDX today. I couldn’t remember if I’d most often done the “warm up, cool off, repeat” method or the “run it gently at various throttle positions, less gently each 15 minute ride time after that” methods, so I’m doing a combination of the 2. I do remember having success with each back in my youth spent on the back of primarily 2 strokes. But first, I did a thorough inspection of the bike, and installed new front wheel bearings (that came with the bike–thanks Doug 🙂 ).

The first few 10 minute cycles, I just started it up, let it warm up to full operating temps, adding a few throttle “blips” into it after warm up, and then did 3 varying throttle amounts rides down to the first stop sign and back in the park here (since losing our house to fire back in 2011, we own a mobile home, rent the lot in a park full of only owners–nothing wrong with that and all, but we’re hoping to buy another house next year with a basement, and 12 bike…er…2 car garage 😛 )–about 1.5 tenths of a mile.

I had intended to use conventional 2 stroke oil during the break in to speed the process up, but was on the phone when I went out to buy some and not thinking about it, bought the full synthetic that I intend to run after that instead–the point being that the synthetic oil will do a better job protecting the piston/rings and cylinder, but also will increase the break in period slightly, so it isn’t finished with the process yet.

Anyways,a few pics I shot today…

IMG_0592 IMG_0593 IMG_0594 IMG_0595 IMG_0596

Yes, the seat does indeed say “Nestle Crunch” XD During my inspection, mostly what I found was it being in real need of a good cleaning, and a few minor maintenance needs. One issue I discovered during the riding portion of the 1st half of the engine break in, is that with every speedbump, pothole, or curve I’d make it was leaking fuel out around the cap on the tank. Not a major amount, but enough to notice it running down the side of the tank. I’m wondering if there’s a small o-ring rubber gasket that fits in the tank that may be missing. I’ll look into it. Hopefully I can get time to finish the break-in over the weekend. But anyways, that’s all I have for tonight, wishing everyone an awesome (and SAFE) holiday weekend (remember what it’s real meaning is people 😉 🙂 ). Ahhhh,that ringa-ding-ding and smell of a sweet 2 stroke woods bike 😀

13321918_10209311674086846_3452902018770855204_n

This entry was posted in General Motorcycle Stuff, Kawasaki, KDX200, New Motorcycle, Project. Bookmark the permalink.