Project Update; 2001 Kawasaki Super Sherpa: Installing Parts

I finally got around to getting the rest of the new parts installed on the KL250 this week, the KLR250 front fender, and the Moose Racing “bark busters” (aluminum hand guard bars) with plastic hand guards (which means I got the fender sprayed/painted first 😉 ). While I was doing the spray work on the fender*, I also went ahead and sprayed the headlight surround/number plate to match the fender…semi-gloss black.

I didn’t run into any issues (other than the * mentioned paint finish) with any of it,and am pleased with the overall results. Pics…

IMG_0580 IMG_0581 IMG_0582 IMG_0583 IMG_0584 IMG_0586 IMG_0588 IMG_0589

Now she’s looking more like a proper dirt bike, IMO, and with the black already on the bike from the factory, I like the looks of it. Hoping to get with Pops (my dad 😉 ) soon to fabricate some side box mounts so’s I can mount those on and get some weekend ADV riding in 🙂

As far as spray work,I think I’ll go ahead in the next week or so and yank the side plate off to spray silver, as the fuel tank is silver,with a green and a black stripe on it, and leave the rear fender as is.

 

 

*The paint that I used was Krylon–I don’t remember which specific paint,but I was told it was the upgrade/replacement to their Fusion line of paints (which is what I’d wanted to use,but couldn’t find in any local stores). It’s supposed to bond with plastics, and all that. I can tell you that it’s not my best spray work,and I’m not really happy with the way the paint comes out at all, though I’ve seen worse. Since I was waiting on all of this to get done (I’m a procrastinator XD ), though, I let it slide. I can always sand it all down and redo it down the road if I wish.

This entry was posted in Dual Sport, Kawasaki, KL250 Super Sherpa, New Parts, Project. Bookmark the permalink.